• Professor James Demmel, Grey Ballard, Olga Holtz and Oded Schwartz win SPAA 2011 Best Paper Award

    Congratulations to Professor James Demmel, Grey Ballard, Olga Holtz and Oded Schwartz on winning the SPAA 2011 Best Paper Award for their paper "Graph Expansion and Communication Costs of Fast Matrix Multiplication".

    The award was formally announced at the SPAA Business Meeting on Sunday, June 5.

  • Professor James Demmel Elected a Member of the National Academy of Sciences


    Three University of California, Berkeley, faculty members were elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS), according to an announcement today (Tuesday, May 3) from the academy.

    Membership in the academy is one of the highest honors given to a scientist or engineer in the United States. Among the NAS’s renowned members are Albert Einstein, Robert Oppenheimer, Thomas Edison, Orville Wright and Alexander Graham Bell. More than 180 living members of the academy have won Nobel Prizes.

    Members are chosen for their excellence in original scientific research and serve on panels that investigate and report to government agencies on areas of science or art. The 72 new members and 18 foreign associates from 15 countries bring total active membership in the society to 2, 113 and the total number of foreign associated to 418. The new members will be inducted into the academy next April during its 149th annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

    The new UC Berkeley members are:

    * James Demmel, Dr. Richard Carl Dehmel Distinguished Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science. He holds a joint appointment in the Department of Mathematics and the Computer Science Division. His research areas as computer architecture and engineering, scientific computing, and numerical analysis and linear algebra.
    * Michael Hanemann, Chancellor’s Professor, Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics. His research interests include non-market valuation, environmental economics and policy, water pricing and management, demand modeling for market research and policy design, the economics of irreversibility and adaptive management, and welfare economics.
    * Athanasios Theologis, retired adjunct professor, Department of Plant and Microbial Biology. During his career, he made fundamental discoveries relating to the physiology of fruit ripening, the mechanism and regulation of ethylene synthesis and action, and the molecular basis of auxin action.

  • Professor Koushik Sen Awarded Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship for 2011

    Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Honors Promising Young Scholars
    118 Researchers Receive Sloan Research Fellowships

    (New York, NY) – The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation is pleased to announce the selection of 118 outstanding researchers as recipients of the prestigious Sloan Research Fellowships for 2011. Awarded annually since 1955, the fellowships are given to early-career scientists and scholars in recognition of achievement and the potential to contribute substantially to their fields.

    Drawn from 54 colleges and universities in the U.S. and Canada, this year’s fellows represent an extraordinarily broad range of research interests, including an astronomer who studies the birth of new
    planets, a computer scientist who examines how changes in computer network architecture can save energy, an economist who investigates the game-theoretical foundations of cooperation, and a mathematician who uses geometry to model how the brain represents stimuli.

    “The scientists and researchers selected for this year’s Sloan Research Fellowships represent the very brightest rising stars of this generation of scholars,” says Dr. Paul L. Joskow, President of the Alfred P.
    Sloan Foundation. “The Foundation is proud to be able to support their work at this important stage in their careers.”

    Administered and funded by the Sloan Foundation, the Fellowships are awarded in close cooperation with the scientific community. Potential fellows must be nominated for recognition by their peers and are subsequently selected by an independent panel of senior scholars.

    The $50,000 fellowships are awarded in chemistry, computer science, economics, mathematics, evolutionary and computational molecular biology, neuroscience, and physics. In 2012, in recognition
    of the important work done by Sloan-sponsored researchers working on the Census of Marine Life, the award program will be expanded to include fellowships in ocean sciences.

  • Professor James Demmel Wins the IEEE Computer Society 2010 Sidney Fernbach Award

    Click here to read the article

    James W. Demmel has been named the recipient of the 2010 IEEE Computer Society Sidney Fernbach Award for his contributions to high-performance linear algebra software.

  • President Obama Cites Communication Avoiding Algorithms

    President Obama cites communication avoiding algorithms in the FY 2012 Department of Energy Budget Request to Congress:

    in particular for Science funding
    there is a short list of FY2010 accomplishments of the office of
    Advanced Scientific Computing Research (ASCR) on pages 65-67.
    One of these reads as follows:

    New Algorithm Improves Performance and Accuracy on Extreme-Scale Computing Systems. On modern computer architectures, communication between processors takes longer than the performance of a floating point arithmetic operation by a given processor. ASCR researchers have developed a new method, derived from commonly used linear algebra methods, to minimize communications between processors and the memory hierarchy, by reformulating the communication patterns specified within the algorithm. This method has been implemented in the TRILINOS framework, a highly-regarded suite of software, which provides functionality for researchers around the world to solve large scale, complex multi-physics problems.

    This is referring to communication-avoiding GMRES work that Mark Hoemmen is working on. Congratulations to all!